Would You Know a Sign From God If It Hit You?

One thing you learn early on when studying spirituality and your connection to God’s Universe, Source, is that you are given signs constantly that let you know you are on the right path, that the Source has your back. If you are in alignment with the Source (God, the Universe, Mother Earth, etc.) the signs are always there and sometimes are given to you at your own discretion – do you want to see a purple balloon? Or maybe a peacock feather? A shooting star? You can always put that out there.

But here’s the thing, although we may ask for the obvious as to not miss it, sometimes God whispers; the Universe ever-so-lovingly nudges us to read a certain book, caresses our ears with a particular melody on the radio, in an effort to tell us “Hey, I’m here. I heard you ask for something today and I’m listening… still.” No rainbow wig clad clowns or bright blue bouncing balls, just hints. We oftentimes have considered these moments just a coincidence or serendipity when in fact the Universe is knocking on that door we are told in the Bible will be open unto us, God is trying to get your attention, to let you know it’s all going to be okay.

There’s a wonderful experiment in Pam Grout’s book ‘E-Squared: Nine Do-It-Yourself Energy Experiments That Prove Your Thoughts Create Your Reality’ where you simply observe with intention to see if you can detect those moments when the Universe is handing you signs on a silver platter. I can’t recommend this book enough to help you hone your ability to focus on the present moment in order to see/hear the messages God is sending you. I remember meditating and thinking simply ‘let me see something that I will know beyond a shadow of a doubt could not be anything but a sign’. 

The next day while standing in the kitchen listening to my husband explain… something, it escapes me at the moment 😉 I was cutting up little pieces of turkey to give to our cats, one of which was sitting right at my feet. I scooped up a small handful of the turkey bits and laid them in a little pile on the floor in front of him. Looking back up at my husband after about 30-seconds (still not sure what he was talking about) I looked down and our cat, who is normally a total slob with his litter box, has about twelve of the pieces of turkey lined up in a perfect row right at the tips of my toes. Just to be clear: not three or four pieces that are kind of situated in a horizontal line, but a perfectly straight and level row of many pieces and just as I had looked down to observe this, he was nudging the last tiny piece with his nose moving it to the very end of the perfect row. o.O

I looked back up at my husband and in my head was thinking, “That’s it! That’s my sign!”, because no way would any cat, especially this one, ever be able to line up anything like what I just saw. I went upstairs, walked into our closet (quiet, private) and thanked God for letting me know he was listening, that I was on the right track. My heart energy at that very moment was off the charts!

Since the ‘turkey in a row’ sign I have had other small things occur but nothing substantial. I have been focusing much of my intention lately on acquiring a mindset specifically for wealth and abundance – having a few blocks to clear out – and I wasn’t sure I’ve been on the right track. You know what I mean? When you’re reading the books, meditating, praying, keeping your thoughts and energy positive, but was still unsure: Was I reading the right books? Am I meditating and praying enough? Am I being positive enough?!!

I spent several hours Friday going over quotes for my Saturday blog post and to save to my personal journal; I was looking for something special that would stand out to me for some reason, I couldn’t put my finger on exactly what I was truly looking for but then I found a quote by, of all people, Groucho Marx. I have read, written and saved many quotes in my day, but I think this is the first one I have come across by Mr. Marx and although there are many by him that are in the vein of comedy or from his films, this one was not. (See the post here.) I dropped the quote into a graphic and posted it on Saturday morning.

Saturday night I was perusing my Kindle and had a recommendation for another Law of Attraction book that at first glance I didn’t really feel was my cup of tea. But for some reason I felt a “nudge” to buy the book, something told me it wouldn’t be what I expected and I didn’t want to ignore my “gut” – sometimes that’s how God whispers 😉 – so I purchased ‘How I Made Over $1 Million Using The Law of Attraction: The Last Law of Attraction, How-To, Or Self-Help Book You Will Ever Need To Read’ by E. K. Santo. I mean, I wasn’t really looking for a get-rich-quick type book, never have, but something in the description and reviews told me this book might be a little more substantial, and I was pleasantly surprised to find out it really is. It’s short, concise with easy to follow instructions and the part I like best is the fact that the author tells you up front that none of the content in the book is new or different from the myriad of other great books on the subject, this one just condenses everything down and the author gives you his take on how LOA worked for him.

Although the book is quite good, I almost gave up on it and stopped about half-way through just due to time constraints, but last night something told me to give it another read. So I did, and at 55% into the book I find a quote… by Groucho Marx… yes, the same one I picked the day before out of hundreds! That, right there, is how I know I’m on the right track. I’m doing just fine – God, the Universe, has my back. 😀

How about you? Do you see the signs? Are you aligned with Source, God, in such a way that you can see and hear when the Universe is speaking to you? My hope for you today is that you will take a moment to clear your thoughts, breathe and listen. EnJOY!

Leave a Reply

